As customer acquisition costs have increased by 60% in the last five years, it has emerged as a top barrier for many ecommerce businesses.
In the backdrop of breakneck competition, without properly developed strategies, you may risk falling into a classic pitfall: overspending on marketing rather than focusing on the value of the acquired customers.
This invariably leads to unsustainable growth in the long term, massive financial strain and low customer retention.
In this blog post, we’ve compiled the top ecommerce customer acquisition strategies to help you attract more relevant customers, reduce costs, and increase your ROI.
Ecommerce customer acquisition involves attracting and converting new leads into customers. It involves various strategies and tactics, such as engaging them with compelling offers or content and encouraging them to make a purchase.
Effective customer acquisition strategies are critical for your business growth. According to a study, 81% of marketers reported revenue growth in the last two years, attributing this success to effective customer acquisition. This shows getting new customers is key to better financial results.
As Paul Graham, the founder of Y Combinator, puts it,
“You can’t wait for customers to come to you. You have to figure out where they are, go there, and drag them back to your store.”
While that’s said, there’s no one-size-fits-all customer acquisition strategy. There are several options in the market, and you have to choose one that fits your business, budget, and target audience while providing maximum ROI.
To measure the success of your customer acquisition strategies, keep an eye on these metrics:
Your gross margin indicates how efficiently your company produces and sells its goods. It's the difference between your revenue and the cost of goods sold (COGS) divided by revenue.
Gross margin = {(Revenue - COGS)/ Revenue} * 100
For example, if your company generates $200,000 in revenue and the cost of goods sold is $150,000, the gross margin would be 40% - the revenue retained after covering the cost.
Landed cost margin is your total costs in getting a product from the supplier to the final destination, including shipping, handling, duties, and taxes. Subtract this cost from the revenue to find the final landed cost margin.
Landed Gross Margin = {(Revenue - Landed costs)/ Revenue} * 100
For example, if your company has $200,000 in revenue and the total landed costs (including shipping, handling, duties, and taxes) amount to $150,000, the landed cost margin would be 25% - after covering all these costs.
Blended CPA is the average cost of acquiring a customer from all marketing channels combined. It helps you understand the overall cost-effectiveness of your customer acquisition efforts.
Blended CPA = Total marketing spend/ Total new customers acquired
For example, if your company spends $50,000 on marketing and acquires 1,000 new customers, the blended cost per acquisition would be $50 - the average amount spent to acquire one new customer.
The Marketing Efficiency Ratio (MER) is the total revenue ratio to total marketing spending. It measures the efficiency of marketing spending in generating revenue.
MER = Total revenue/ Total marketing spend
For example, if your company's total revenue is $200,000 and you spend $50,000 on marketing, the marketing efficiency ratio would be 4:1, meaning you earned $4 for every $1 spent on marketing—a pretty sweet deal, actually.
The total ecommerce sales will reach $5 trillion this year. As competition rises and advertising costs soar, you need top ecommerce customer acquisition strategies for your business.
To ease your job a bit, we compiled seven strategies that have a direct, measurable impact on your CAC. Here are the top ecommerce customer acquisition strategies for your business:
McKinsey estimates that personalized experiences reduce customer acquisition costs by as much as 50 percent, lift revenues by 5 to 15 percent, and increase marketing ROI by 10 to 30 percent.
Satisfied customers are more likely to purchase from you again and spend 67% more, reducing the need for expensive acquisition campaigns.
The question is, how do you shape such experiences?
Begin by segmenting your customers by demographics, purchase history, or engagement levels. Segmenting customers helps you personalize messages and provide unique experiences. For example, you can send welcome messages to first-time buyers and offers to buyers who purchase regularly.
You can easily do this with the all-in-one customer engagement platform Plivo CX’s Audiences feature. It lets you segment all your contacts from your online stores in real time. You can create several rules to segment your customers based on contact properties and events.
Couple this with Plivo CX Journeys to deliver customers the right message at the right time. With this feature, you can identify key events to trigger messaging that meets the customers where they are in their journeys.
The best way to acquire and retain more customers is to meet and engage with them where they are. This means selecting the appropriate channels for each customer.
Here are some ecommerce customer acquisition channels:
On average, 70.19% of carts are abandoned. It roughly means that 7 out of 10 shoppers leave your website without making a purchase. The top reasons for cart abandonment include:
Fixing these issues will help you retrieve your lost customers and secure revenue. Here’s how you can reduce cart abandonment and improve conversion rates:
3 out of 4 customers are ready to spend more with brands that provide good customer service. Building better customer relationships has become super important to acquire and retain customers.
Customers also share their customer service experience with other people, which builds a brand perception that can affect future sales. No wonder 60% of consumers have purchased from a brand solely based on the customer service they expect to receive.
To build better customer relationships, you can incorporate:
For instance, send customers welcome emails when they sign up, thank them with a post-purchase email, or share discount codes on their birthdays and anniversaries. These activities strengthen your relationship with your customers.
You can use Plivo CX to run email campaigns. Select your audience, choose the email channel, and schedule an email. You also get access to ready-to-go templates and an AI assistant to craft personalized emails for customers.
Your website is one of the chief entrances for your customers. It’s also a primary representation of your brand on the internet. Having a website that’s easy to navigate and loads quickly reduces friction and increases the likelihood of conversion.
To improve your website's shopping experience, focus on key elements like clear navigation, detailed product descriptions, high-quality images, and a simplified checkout process with multiple payment options.
Moreover, the shopping experience is not limited to desktops. In 2023, mobile accounted for 80% of all retail website visits worldwide. That’s why you must ensure that your ecommerce website is optimized for mobile.
Here are some more ways you can improve the shopping experience for your customers:
In referral programs, you incentivize existing customers to recommend your product to their friends, family, or colleagues. Customers receive rewards, such as discounts or free products, when their referrals make a purchase.
Referral programs are an excellent way to gain new customers at a much lower cost than traditional advertising methods. By encouraging your current customers to refer others in their networks to you, you can tap into personal networks and capitalize on the trust and confidence that comes with personal recommendations.
Steps to establish a successful referral program:
In affiliate programs, you involve third-party marketers (affiliates) who promote your products or services to a wider audience—often followers on social media.
Affiliates (or influencers) earn a commission for every sale generated through their marketing efforts. They may also have a price to market your product, irrespective of the sales they attract. Still, 60% of marketers agree that influencer marketing has better ROI as compared to traditional marketing channels.
Steps to establish a successful influencer or affiliate program:
All ecommerce customer acquisition strategies mentioned above will bring you results. But you need a platform to execute them. Plivo CX provides a single platform to execute almost all your customer acquisition strategies.
It provides end-to-end SMS, WhatsApp, and email marketing automation to help you acquire customers. It also helps optimize customer acquisition strategies with customer segmentation, cart abandonment targeting, personalized content, and robust analytics.
Book a demo today!